Spain trims EuroBasket list to 18 players

2022-08-08T12:43:04+00:00 2022-08-08T12:45:29+00:00.

Giannis Askounis

08/Aug/22 12:43

Four players less as Spain moves forward in the training camp ahead of the 2022 EuroBasket

By Johnny Askounis/

The Spanish Basketball Federation informed on the players remaining available for national team selector Sergio Scariolo.

Hector Alderete, Jonathan Barreiro, Alberto Diaz, and Miquel Salvo were cut, FEB announced Monday.

In the opener in the series of friendly games, La Roja will visit Greece in Athens Tuesday. Besides the four players removed from the squad, Sergio Llull was also excluded from the trip for personal reasons but will rejoin the training camp Wednesday, one day before the second part of the home-and-away friendly series opposite Greece.

Powered up by the most recent arrivals, including Usman Garuba, Spain will make the trip to Greece with 17 players on board.

Spain’s remaining EuroBasket selections:

Alberto Abalde (Real Madrid)
Dario Brizuela (Unicaja)
Lorenzo Brown (Maccabi Playtika Tel Aviv)
Quino Colom (Girona)
Jaime Fernandez (Lenovo Tenerife)
Rudy Fernandez (Real Madrid)
Usman Garuba (Houston Rockets)
Fran Guerra (Lenovo Tenerife)
Juan Hernangomez (Toronto Raptors)
Willy Hernangomez (New Orleans Pelicans)
Sergio Llull (Real Madrid)
Xabi Lopez-Arostegui (Valencia)
Juan Nunez (Real Madrid)
Joel Parra (Joventut)
Jaime Pradilla (Valencia)
Sebas Saiz (Alvark Tokyo)
Yankuba Sima (Umana Reyer Venezia)
Santi Yusta (Casademont Zaragoza)

Spain will meet with Greece on Tuesday and Thursday. From there, it will take on Lithuania in Gran Canaria next Tuesday and in Vilnius next Thursday. Moving into official fixtures, the final round of the 2023 FIBA World Cup Qualifiers starts at home versus Iceland and on the road versus the Netherlands on 24 and 27 August, respectively.

The main highlight, EuroBasket features Spain in Group A of the preliminary round. The schedule has games against Bulgaria, Georgia, Belgium, Montenegro, and Turkey between 1 and 8 September, in Tbilisi, Georgia. The top four teams of the group will advance to the knockout stage to be held in Berlin, Germany.