EuroLeague acknowledges “illegal contact” by Rice on De Colo’s game-tying attempt

2019-12-18T09:47:10+00:00 2019-12-18T09:52:33+00:00.

Antonis Stroggylakis

18/Dec/19 09:47

EuroLeague says De Colo was fouled by Rice.

By Eurohoops team/

EuroLeague Basketball released a report on the controversy of the last play of the Round 14 game between Panathinaikos Athens and Fenerbahce Beko.

With less than a second left on regulation and Panathinaikos up 81 – 78, Fenerbahce guard Nando De Colo attempted a 3-pointer to tie the score. According to the replay, Panathinaikos guard Tyrese Rice committed a foul on De Colo. The referees didn’t call the contact.

Per EuroLeague:

Following speculation surrounding a no call during the fourth quarter of the Panathinaikos OPAP Athens-Fenerbahce Beko Istanbul game played on December 17 2019, Euroleague Basketball’s findings are:

In the fourth quarter with 3.3 left on the game clock, Nando De Colo of Fenerbahce Beko Istanbul caught a live ball on the playing court. He dribbled towards the 3-point line and with 0.4 left on the game clock attempted a 3-point field goal. Whilst in the act of shooting, Tyrese Rice of Panathinaikos OPAP Athens made illegal contact between his right hand and the right wrist of Nando De Colo. This was an incorrect no call, which should have been called as a personal foul on Tyrese Rice resulting in three free throws being awarded to Nando De Colo.