Tenerife dominated Hapoel Jerusalem and qualified for the Final Four

2019-04-03T22:25:11+00:00 2019-04-03T22:36:46+00:00.

Aris Barkas

03/Apr/19 22:25


Iberostar Tenerife, the first ever Basketball Champions League champions, are back in the Final Four

By Eurohoops team/ info@eurohoops.net

Behind 21 points by Tim Abromaitis and 15 by Nicolas Brussino, Iberostar Tenerife prevailed with ease (81-64) over Hapoel Jerusalem and ended the season for Amar’e Stoudemire and company.

To be exact, it was the hosts’ stellar defense that made things happen. Tenerife led by 21 points (64-46) at the start of the last period and despite 20 points by James Feldeine, Hapoel couldn’t cut the lead to less than nine (72-63) with two minutes left in the game.

When finally the Israelis got things going, it was too late for any substantial come back effort. Ferran Bassas added 14 points for the winners and Colton Iverson was near a double-double (11 p. 8 r.), while Da’Sean Butler with 11 points and also just 2 out of seven threes was the only other player for Hapoel who scored in double digits.

It was a more than a fair result since Hapoel was trailing almost for the whole game and the hosts finished the first half with a solid 40-26 lead. Hapoel Jerusalem had won the first leg just by two points (75-73).

Photo credit: Basketball Champions League