Spain names 12-man squad for FIBA World Cup

2019-08-21T14:28:13+00:00 2019-08-21T14:37:48+00:00.

Antigoni Zachari

21/Aug/19 14:28

Ilimane Diop and Jaime Fernandez were cut from the final roster.

By Eurohoops team /

Sergio Scariolo cut Jaime Fernandez and Ilimane Diop from the Spanish NT roster for FIBA World Cup as announced by the Federation on Wednesday.

Thus, the 12-man squad to represent Spain at the FIBA World Cup is the following: Quino Colom, Sergio Llull, Ricky Rubio, Juancho Hernangómez, Javier Beirán, Rudy Fernández, Xavi Rabaseda, Pau Ribas, Víctor Claver, Willy Hernangómez, Pierre Oriola, Marc Gasol.

As coach Sergio Scariolo explained: “We believe it is best to continue with the 12 players who will be in the final team if nothing happens. There are still games left, and the last two cuts would be the first to enter the roster if there were any injuries. It is good for the group to have a definitive roster at this point. We have thanked them, they have done a great job and they belong to this family 100%. We count on them for the future, and tomorrow we will use the players we think have to play the World Cup in China”.

Spain faces Iran, Puerto Rico and Tunisia in Group C in the First Round of the big tournament in China that tips off August 31 and tomorrow they will play their last preparation game in Madrid against the Dominican Republic.