Sacramento Kings’s Mike Brown wins Coach of the Year award

2023-04-20T11:20:39+00:00 2023-04-20T11:20:39+00:00.

Nikola Miloradovic

20/Apr/23 11:20
LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA - FEBRUARY 24: Head coach Mike Brown of the Sacramento Kings celebrates a 176-175 double overtime win over the LA Clippers with Malik Monk #0 and De'Aaron Fox #5 at Arena on February 24, 2023 in Los Angeles, California. User is consenting to the terms and conditions of the Getty Images License Agreement. (Photo by Harry How/Getty Images)

After taking Sacramento Kings back to the playoffs, Mike Brown became the first recipient of the Red Auerbach Trophy

By Eurohoops team/

Sacramento Kings‘ Mike Brown was announced as the unanimous winner of the NBA’s Coach of the Year award for the 2022/23 season.

All 100 voters from a panel of reporters and broadcasters had Brown atop their ballot after he led the Kings to the playoffs for the first time since 2006.

Brown is the first unanimous winner of the NBA Coach of the Year Award, which has been presented annually since the 1962-63 season.

These honors don’t come around often, so you’re very appreciative of them. I’m really appreciative of being in Sacramento. The fans, the city has been fantastic,” Brown said.

Mike Brown won the award for the second time, adding this trophy to the one he got after he and LeBron James led Cleveland to a 66-16 record in the 2008-09 season.

The other finalists this season were Oklahoma City’s Mark Daigneault and Boston’s Joe Mazzulla, as Thunder‘s coach came second and Celtic’s third.

The Kings were 48-34, the seventh-best record in the league and the first time they were a top-seven team since 2003-04.

They led the league in points per game, had the best road record in the Western Conference, snapped a run of 16 consecutive losing seasons, and won a division title for the first time since 2003.