Victor Wembanyama officially named NBA rookie of the year

2024-05-07T01:21:06+00:00 2024-05-07T10:21:09+00:00.

Aris Barkas

07/May/24 01:21
Logan Riely / Getty Images / Ideal Image

The French phenomenon made history with an award which is expected to be first of many

By Eurohoops team/

San Antonio Spurs forward-center Victor Wembanyama is the recipient of the Wilt Chamberlain Trophy as the 2023-24 Kia NBA Rookie of the Year.

Wembanyama received all 99 first-place votes from a media panel, making him the first unanimous NBA Rookie of the Year since Karl-Anthony Towns in the 2015-16 season.

He is the third European player to win the award after Pau Gasol and Luka Doncic.

Per the press release: Victor Wembanyama is the first player from France to win the Kia NBA Rookie of the Year Award. He is also the third player to earn the honor with the Spurs, joining David Robinson (1989-90) and Tim Duncan (1997-98).

Wembanyama led all rookies in points, rebounds and blocks per game. He is the second rookie to lead all NBA players in blocks per game in a season, joining Manute Bol (1985-86).

Wembanyama became the first player to average at least 20.0 points, 10.0 rebounds and 3.0 blocks in fewer than 30 minutes per game in a season. He is also the first player to have at least 1,500 points, 700 rebounds, 250 assists, 250 blocks and 100 three-pointers made in a season.

Wembanyama is one of three finalists for the 2023-24 Kia NBA Defensive Player of the Year Award