Rytas Vilnius crowned Lithuanian League champion after 12 years

2022-06-07T20:28:49+00:00 2022-08-31T14:21:32+00:00.

Antonis Stroggylakis

07/Jun/22 20:28


Rytas Vilnius won a dramatic Game 4 to sit on the champion’s throne in Lithuania.

By Eurohoops team/ info@eurohoops.net

Rytas Vilnius beat Lietkabelis Panevezys 79 – 76 in Game 5 of the Lithuanian League Finals to win the series 4-1 and claim the championship title after 2010. It’s the first time in 12 years that a team not named “Zalgiris Kaunas” wins the LKL.

Lietkabelis led 35 – 44 at halftime but Rytas reacted after the second half to initially trim the margin and then take the lead in the fourth period. The game became a thriller down the stretch with both teams trading blows.

With Lietkabelis up 74 – 75 and 29 seconds to play, Ivan Buva hit two free throws for Rytas and Lukas Uleckas added another pair while their opponents were unable to score any basket.

Margiris Normantas scored 15 points for Rytas, Uleckas finished with 14 points and Arnas Butkevicius had 12 points plus five rebounds.

Gediminas Orelik led Lietkabelis with 16 points and five rebounds. Nikola Radicevic posted 15 points plus seven assists and Gabriellus Maldunas scored 15 as well.

Photo: FIBA