French league players call off strike, final stage to begin Sunday

2021-06-17T20:37:32+00:00 2021-06-17T20:40:52+00:00.

Giannis Askounis

17/Jun/21 20:37

Crisis averted with the French Players Association and LNB reaching an agreement

By Johnny Askounis/

The final stage of the 2020-21 Jeep Elite Pro A season will begin on June 20 and the season champion will be crowned on June 26, the French league, LNB, announced Thursday.

The Players Association of France reacting to the packed schedule of recent months decided to boycott the postseason. The strike was called off five days later after reaching an agreement with LNB.

“The players, after the demanding schedule to finish the season, are satisfied to have been able to benefit from closely listening to the LNB and president Alain Beral, and consider the proposals made as a real step forward in their relations with the league,” noted union president, Amara Sy, per the press release.

JDA Dijon, LDLC ASVEL Lyon-Villeurbanne, AS Monaco, SIG Strasbourg, JL Bourg, Boulogne Metropolitans 92, Le Mans, and Orleans have clinched a postseason berth. The quarterfinal pairings will be set according to the final standings to be determined following Friday’s clash between Monaco and ASVEL.

The quarterfinals contests hosted by the top four teams of the Regular Season standings will directly award a Final Four berth, as previously announced. The four remaining sides will complete the season at Rouen.

Photo Credit: Basketball Champions League