Markus Howard has authored an all-time great scoring season

2024-04-18T10:10:49+00:00 2024-04-17T21:53:35+00:00.

Aris Barkas

18/Apr/24 10:10

The Baskonia guard may be the next great EuroLeague scorer as he continues to tally impressive numbers

By Aris Barkas/

This season saw two EuroLeague stars, Mike James and Nando De Colo, leave the legendary Vassilis Spanoulis behind them on the Turkish Airlines EuroLeague all-time scoring list. James, who is now up to 4,558 career points, is expected to become the first player to break the 5,000-point milestone in the EuroLeague.

However, there is another scoring record in danger this season by a player who may be the next in line to climb the scoring ladder faster than anyone else, if he stays healthy and continues to play in the EuroLeague.

In just his second EuroLeague season, Baskonia‘s Markus Howard has already registered the second-best scoring season of all time, and depending on the fate of his team, he can end up getting even more, having already surpassed the milestone of 1,000 points in his EuroLeague career (1,145).

Heading into Friday’s Play-In Showdown finale, at home against Virtus Segafredo Bologna, Howard has scored 675 points, which trails only Alexey Shved’s output from the 2017-18 season. That season, Shved averaged 21.8 points in 34 games with Khimki Moscow Region for a total of 740 points.

Howard has averaged 19.3 points so far in 35 games, including the first-ever play-in game, which is an improvement on last season’s 16.9 average. This year, he is more efficient, too, shooting 49.5% on two-pointers, 40.1% on threes, and 83,6% on free throws. Yes, Howard is knocking on the door of the 50-40-90 club while standing tall as the regular season’s top scorer.

Here is the full list of the top scorers in each EuroLeague season with the key note that the top scorer award of the season, named after the late, great Alphonso Ford is awarded based on their points per game average.

Year Player PTS
2024 Markus Howard 675
2023 Aleksandar Vezenkov 582
2022 Mike James 534
2021 Vasilije Micic 532
2020 Mike James 590
2019 Mike James 595
2018 Alexey Shved 740
2017 Keith Langford 609
2016 Nando De Colo 525
2015 Andrew Goudelock 493
2014 Keith Langford 439
2013 Vassilis Spanoulis 457
2012 Vassilis Spanoulis 350
2011 Mirza Teletovic 309
2010 Linas Kleiza 377
2009 Igor Rakocevic 377
2008 Nikola Pekovic 378
2007 Juan Carlos Navarro 369
2006 Will Solomon 375
2005 Anthony Parker 431
2004 Marcus Brown 393
2003 Alphonso Ford 393
2002 Alphonso Ford 495
2001 Gregor Fucka 335

A remarkable average

Howard has also climbed the ladder in the per-average All-Time category pretty fast. Alphonso Ford remains on the top with 22.2 points per game in 54 contests, followed by Markus Howard (16.9 ppg in 67 games).

Kaspars Kambala (16.7 ppg in 53 games), Mike James (16.5 ppg in 277 games), and Anthony Parker (16.3 ppg in 90 games) complete the Top 5, followed by current EuroLeague president Dejan Bodiroga (16.1 ppg in 100 games) and Alexey Shved (16.1 ppg in 187 games).

It’s obvious that it’s hard for anyone to get near Ford’s consistency, considering the huge change in the number of games in the last 20 years.

However, Howard has made a stellar start in his first two seasons and he can also create a distance from the rest of the bunch if he continues like this.