By Alex Madrid/ firstname.lastname@example.org
Real Madrid will be considering leaving ACB unless the league officially recognizes an error the referees made in the play that decided the outcome of the Copa Del Rey Final vs. Barcelona, according to “El Partidazo” show of Spanish radio Cope.
With Barcelona down 92 – 93 in overtime, the referees counted a basket by Barcelona center Ante Tomic after calling Real Madrid big Anthony Randolph with a goaltending violation. Randolph had soared to block Tomic’s layup and blocked the ball only after it touched the rim. Thus essentially, Randolph grabbed a rebound.
“It was a fu–ing theft,” Real Madrid captain Felipe Reyes said while walking to the locker room.
The referees decided that it was a goaltending violation after watching the Instant Replay.
This basket was the game-winner that gave Barcelona the second Spanish cup title in a row. And now Real Madrid wants ACB to officially acknowledge the mistake. If not, then Cope reports that the club will ask the board members for the possibility of leaving ACB.
In the press conference after the game, Juan Carlos Sanchez, the basketball section director of Real Madrid said: “It is the second year that there is a misfortune in the arbitration against Real Madrid. Seeing that play in the instant replay, if the three refs have not seen that it is a legal block, something has happened that is wrong. ”
Before the play mentioned above, the referees made an obvious mistake also against Barcelona. With his team up 92 – 90, Barca forward Chris Singleton ran in transition and jumped to score a basket only to receive a foul by Randolph. The referees didn’t call the foul.