The 2021-22 7DAYS EuroCup groups are set

2021-07-09T13:41:27+00:00 2021-07-09T13:46:45+00:00.

Stefan Djordjevic

09/Jul/21 13:41

Everything is ready for the 2021-22 EuroCup season

By Eurohoops team/

The 2021-22 7DAYS EuroCup campaign will start the new format in the competition with the regular season being played in two groups of ten teams. The draw was concluded today (July 9) and the field is set.

The groups are as follows:

Group A

MoraBanc Andorra
Lokomotiv Kuban Krasnodar
Joventut Badalona
Partizan NIS Belgrade
Lietkabelis Panevezys
Dolomiti Energia Trento
Boulogne Metropolitans 92
Turk Telekom Ankara
Hamburg Towers
Slask Wroclaw

Group B

Valencia Basket
Promitehas Patras
Gran Canaria
Buducnost VOLI Podgorica
Virtus Segafredo Bologna
Cedevita Olimpija Ljubljana
Mincidelice JL Bourg en Bresse
ratiopharm Ulm
Frutti Extra Bursaspor
Umana Reyer Venice

Per the press release: After being divided into two groups of 10 teams each at the EuroCup Draw on Friday in Barcelona, Spain, all teams now know who their regular season opponents will be. Each team will have 18 regular season games – nine at home and nine on the road – between October 30, 2021 to April 6, 2022. The top eight teams from each regular season group will advance to the elimination rounds, which consist of the eighthfinals, quarterfinals, semifinals and final, all played in a single-game format in for which the higher-ranked team from the regular season will hold home-court advantage. The eighthfinals are scheduled on April 19 and 20, 2022, followed by the quarterfinal on April 26 and 27 and the semifinals on May 3 and 4. The single-game EuroCup Final date and location will be announced in the near future.

The eventual EuroCup champion will qualify to play in the 2022-23 Turkish Airlines EuroLeague. The runner-up may also share that honor if both of the previous EuroCup finalists, AS Monaco and UNICS Kazan, do not reach 2021-22 EuroLeague Playoffs.

The 2021-22 7DAYS EuroCup may be the strongest in competition history. Valencia Basket, the winningest team in EuroCup history, is back to fight for a fifth title. Virtus Segafredo Bologna, which won 19 consecutive games last season, aims to become the first Italian team to win the trophy. Partizan NIS Belgrade returns with a renewed lineup, led by legendary head coach Zeljko Obradovic. Lokomotiv Kuban Krasnodar and Joventut Badalona also won the EuroCup in the past, while Joventut, Virtus and Partizan have all been EuroLeague champions. Slask Wroclaw returns to the competition for the first time since 2008, while Hamburg Towers will make its EuroCup debut.

It adds up to an ambitious group of aspirants, all seeking a double-reward: the 2021-22 7DAYS EuroCup title and a spot in the 2022-23 Turkish Airlines EuroLeague!