Euroleague Basketball reports referee mistake late in Real Madrid vs. Maccabi

2021-12-03T16:52:58+00:00 2021-12-03T16:57:33+00:00.

Giannis Askounis

03/Dec/21 16:52

Eurohoops.net

Thomas Heurtel should have not been allowed to check back in following the five-second violation

By Johnny Askounis/ info@eurohoops.net

After reviewing the Turkish Airlines EuroLeague Regular Season Round 13 contest between Real Madrid and Maccabi Playtika Tel Aviv held yesterday, Thursday, at WiZink Center, Euroleague Basketball acknowledged an error by both the referees and the Unified Scorers Crew.

With 40.2 seconds left in the tight battle of the European powerhouses, Thomas Heurtel should not have been permitted to replace Jeffery Taylor and return to the court after Scottie Wilbekin’s five-second violation.

The Whites went on to secure the win, 72-70, thanks to Guerschon Yabusele driving to the game-winning bucket.

Per Euroleague Basketball report: “Following speculation surrounding a substitution at the end of the fourth quarter during the Real Madrid vs. Maccabi Playtika Tel Aviv game played on December 2, 2021, Euroleague Basketball’s findings are:

In the fourth quarter, with 0:40.2 left on the game clock, the ball went out of bounds with possession being awarded to Maccabi Playtika Tel Aviv on the baseline. Prior to the ball being put into play, Maccabi Playtika Tel Aviv was granted a timeout. During the timeout, Thomas Heurtel of Real Madrid was substituted by Jeffery Taylor of Real Madrid. After the timeout, Scottie Wilbekin of Maccabi Playtika Tel Aviv attempted to inbound the ball but was unable to do so, resulting in a five-second violation that was correctly called by the referee. At this point, Jeffery Taylor of Real Madrid was substituted by Thomas Heurtel of Real Madrid. Neither the referees nor the Unified Scorers Crew detected this mistake, and as there was no clock-running phase of the game between the substitutions, both the re-entry into the game of Thomas Heurtel and the return of Jeffery Taylor to the bench, should not have been allowed.”