Euroleague announced 32 teams that will compete in Adidas Next Generation Tournament

2022-12-13T13:21:18+00:00 2022-12-13T13:26:21+00:00.

Nikola Miloradovic

13/Dec/22 13:21

ANGT Qualifiers field features clubs from 12 countries

By Eurohoops team/

Euroleague announced 32 teams that will compete this season in the 2022-23 Euroleague Basketball Adidas Next Generation Tournament. This season will be the 20th edition of the annual event, with clubs and academies from 12 different countries.

To reach the ANGT Finals, teams will first compete in three-day Qualifiers held in Munich, Germany; Patras, Greece; Zadar, Croatia; and Belgrade, Serbia. Each Qualifier will feature eight teams, with the winner earning an automatic berth to the Finals.

Each of the qualifying tournaments will feature Next Generation Teams organized by Adidas from the top 18-and-under talents in Europe whose club teams are not already playing in one of the four qualifying tournaments.

The first qualifier in Munich (January 20 to 22, 2023) will feature the U18 teams of host FC Bayern Munich, 2003 and 2007 ANGT champion Zalgiris Kaunas, Panathinaikos Athens, Ratiopharm Ulm, 2015, 2019 and 2021 ANGT champion Real Madrid, ALBA Berlin, EA7 Emporio Armani Milan and the NGT Munich team coached by Petteri Koponen.

The second qualifier in Patras (February 10 to 12) includes host Promitheas Patras, LDLC ASVEL Villeurbanne, Orange1 Bassano, 2013 ANGT champion Joventut Badalona, Olympiacos Piraeus, Cholet Basket, Rasta Vechta, and the ANGT Patras team.

Zadar will debut as an ANGT Qualifier host from March 3 to 5. In addition to the host team’s U18 representative, KK Zadar, the participating teams will be Casademont Zaragoza, FC Barcelona, Maccabi Tel Aviv, Cedevita Olimpija Ljubljana, Stellazzurra Rome, Helsinki Basketball Academy, and the NGT Zadar team.

The fourth and final qualifying tournament returns to Belgrade, Serbia from March 31 to April 2. Besides local clubs Crvena Zvezda mts Belgrade, Partizan Belgrade, and Mega MIS Belgrade, the tournament will include U18 representatives from Valencia Basket, Anadolu Efes Istanbul, PFYM INSEP Paris, Umana Reyer Venice and the NGT Belgrade team.

Under-18 teams are coming from 14 Turkish Airlines EuroLeague and five 7DAYS EuroCup clubs. The continental junior club champion will be crowned in the spring in a finals that will be held in parallel with the Turkish Airlines EuroLeague Final Four.