One spot left in 2017/2018 EuroLeague

2017-06-04T21:30:36+00:00 2017-06-04T21:44:58+00:00.

Antonis Stroggylakis

04/Jun/17 21:30

Two more clubs were granted a ticket to next season’s EuroLeague following today’s results in the VTB and Spanish League playoffs.

By Antonis Stroggylakis/

Khimki Moscow and Valencia became the 14th and 15th team to compete in the 2017/2018 EuroLeague. There’s only one spot up for grabs that will go to the next German League champion: Either Brose Bamberg or EWE Oldenburg.

Khimki received the “golden pass” by advancing to the VTB League Finals over Zenit St. Petersburg. The three-year agreement signed by EuroLeague with the VTB in 2016, grants each season’s champion a place in the top-tier competition.

However if CSKA Moscow, which owns an A-License that guarantees its participation, is one of the teams of the title series then the other finalist plays in EuroLeague no matter the outcome of the Finals. As was the case last season with Unics Kazan and this year with Khimki Moscow.

Valencia will return to EuroLeague after 2014/2015 according to a deal struck between ACB and EuroLeague that grants entrance via a B License to the team with the most successful season apart from Real Madrid, Barcelona and Baskonia (the A-License clubs).

Following the elimination of Unicaja Malaga (already a “lock” for next season’s EuroLeague after winning the EuroCup) in the Spanish league semifinals, Valencia was automatically “pushed” to the 2017/2018 EuroLeague by rights of finishing third in the regular season, under only Real Madrid and Baskonia.

This development also erases all possibilities of an other team receiving Wild Card.

The 2017/2018 EuroLeague teams:

Fenerbahce (A License)

Olympiacos (A License)

CSKA Moscow (A License)

Real Madrid (A License)

Anadolu Efes (A License)

Panathinaikos (A License)

Baskonia (A License)

Zalgiris Kaunas (A License)

Barcelona (A License)

Maccabi Tel Aviv (A License)

Olimpia Milano (A License)

Unicaja Malaga (EuroCup champion)

Crvena Zvezda (ABA League champion)

Khimki Moscow (VTB League finalist)

Valencia (Spanish League top team after teams with A License)

Last remaining open spot: Brose Bamberg OR EWE Oldenburg (German League champion)