FIBA Europe’s general assembly at full swing in Munich

2019-05-24T19:15:58+00:00 2019-05-24T19:20:42+00:00.

Aris Barkas

24/May/19 19:15

The general assembly of FIBA Europe in Munich will be completed this weekend with the election of a new president

Βy Eurohoops team/

The elections for a new president, treasurer, and board members of FIBA Europe will be held today and changes are expected, as Turkish federation president Hidayet Turkoglu has implied.


The European member federations of FIBA convened in Munich, Germany on Friday for their annual General Assembly.

FIBA Europe President Turgay Demirel, FIBA Executive Director Kamil Novak and FIBA Europe Board members were joined in attendance by a list of distinguished guests, including FIBA President Horacio Muratore, FIBA Secretary General Andreas Zagklis and FIBA Europe Honorary President George Vassilakopoulos

Mr. Demirel opened proceedings by paying tribute to former FIBA Secretary General Patrick Baumann and FIBA Europe Honorary Member Noah Klieger who both passed away last year, inviting all present to a moment of silence.

FIBA President Horacio Muratore addressed the General Assembly first. He said: “I have been for many years in your position, as President of the Argentine Basketball Federation and I know well that your work is not easy. It is not easy to coordinate your regions, maintain the professional league and be frequently successful in the international championships.

“As FIBA, we have opened the door at maximum level to more Federations.

“80 national teams played to help their teams to the World Cup and almost 100 countries will play in the next cycle of Qualifiers for the Continental Cups 2021, including EuroBasket.

“And, although in this continent, someone tried to boycott us, we have seen full venues, national teams returning home, and great emotions until the last minute of the last game.

“In addition, FIBA has supported, and will continue to support, the youth competitions.

“These last five years have given us another great tool to develop our Federations, a new Olympic discipline, the 3×3.

“3×3 is part of the legacy of Patrick Baumann.”

In his last General Assembly speech as President of FIBA Europe for the term of office 2014-2019, Turgay Demirel underlined another excellent year for basketball in Europe and the fact that during his term European Federations worked in harmony for the benefit of basketball in the continent.

He said: “I want to thank President Muratore for taking the initiative during the last months, a difficult period for FIBA. He showed leadership and lead the organization together with the FIBA Chief Operating Officer (Markus) Studer, the First Vice President and Treasurer for the next two months until the Central Board meeting (in December 2018).

“Mr. Andreas Zagklis became the fourth Secretary General of FIBA. I want to congratulate him for the full trust he received from Executive Committee and Central Board members of FIBA. I am sure he will take our organization and basketball to a higher level, by working closely with all continents, focusing on our sport and listening to our member federations.”

In addition to the annual reports from FIBA Executive Director Europe, Kamil Novak, the chairpersons of the different commissions of FIBA Europe and Walter Pfaller, the President of the European zone of the International Wheelchair Basketball Federation, the proceedings also included an update on the implementation of the ONE FIBA vision, as well as some changes to the bye-laws of FIBA Europe.

The 46 voting delegates unanimously approved amendments to the bye-laws of FIBA Europe, with the major change being the implementation of a six-member Coordination Council, which will ensure the smooth cooperation between FIBA Europe and FIBA.

The delegates accepted a proposal by the Lithuanian Basketball Federation to host next year’s Assembly in the Lithuanian capital, Vilnius.

The proposal by the Basketball Federation of Bosnia and Herzegovina to hold the 2021 General Assembly in Sarajevo was also approved.

The General Assembly continues on Saturday with the elections of a President, Treasurer and Board members for the term of office 2019-2023.