Ricky Rubio returns, no naturalized players in Spain’s preliminary list for the World Cup

2023-07-05T12:53:23+00:00 2023-07-05T12:53:23+00:00.

Nikola Miloradovic

05/Jul/23 12:53


The list of 16 players for the Spanish national team is officially announced

By Eurohoops team/ info@eurohoops.net

Spain has revealed its list of 16 players who will participate in the preparation for the upcoming 2023 FIBA World Cup. The notable inclusion is the return of 2019 MVP Ricky Rubio, while the team will not feature any naturalized players.

Rubio had led Spain to a gold medal in the previous World Cup but was unable to participate in the EuroBasket due to injury.

During the European championship, Lorenzo Brown replaced him as a naturalized player in Sergio Scariolo’s team. However, Brown has decided to skip the upcoming tournament due to health reasons.

The complete list includes:

  • Alberto Abalde
  • Álex Abrines
  • Santi Aldama
  • Darío Brizuela
  • Víctor Claver
  • Alberto Díaz
  • Jaime Fernández
  • Rudy Fernández
  • Usman Garuba
  • Juancho Hernangómez
  • Willy Hernangómez
  • Sergio Llull
  • Joel Parra
  • Jaime Pradilla
  • Ricky Rubio
  • Sebas Saiz

The World Cup will take place from August 25 to September 10 in Indonesia, Japan, and the Philippines. As the defending champions, Spain has been placed in Group G (Jakarta) alongside Iran, Ivory Coast, and Brazil.