Philippines, Japan and Indonesia will host the 2023 FIBA World Cup

2017-12-09T13:43:35+00:00 2017-12-09T14:47:17+00:00.

Aris Barkas

09/Dec/17 13:43

The FIBA World Cup remains in Asia. After the 2019 tournament in China, the 2023 version will be hosted by the Philippines, Japan and Indonesia.

By Eurohoops team/

With Turkey and Russia out of the picture, since they abandoned their bid, the other candidates to get the event were the duo of Argentina and Uruguay.

Considering, however, the fans’ interest in basketball in the Philippines, the decision was easy. Japan has hosted the event back in 2006, but this time the final stage of the tournament will be held in the Philippines.

To be exact the Finals will be hosted in the Philippine Arena which has a 55,000 seat capacity and will set a new FIBA World Cup record.

According to reports from Argentina, the pair of Argentina and Uruguay will be awarded the FIBA World Cup of 2027. The announcement will be official in June and that means that the FIVA World Cup will not be hosted in Europe during the next decade.

Photo credit: FIBA