LegaBasket Assembly approves 18-team format for next season

2020-05-15T22:24:26+00:00 2020-05-15T22:26:04+00:00.

Antigoni Zachari

15/May/20 22:24


Changes are coming in the Italian League’s format, which will feature 18 teams for the 2020-21 season.

By Eurohoops team / info@eurohoops.net

The Italian League canceled the 2019-20 season without proclaiming a champion, following the coronavirus outbreak in the country and its Assembly agreed on Friday to include 18 teams in the league next season.

As announced by the league following the Assembly’s teleconference, Reale Mutua Torino will be promoted from the Italian Serie A2 to the Serie A as the 18th team of the championship.

Apart from the new format, the Assembly then decided on the teams that are entitled to enter the European competitions in the 2020/2021 season: Olimpia Milano in Euroleague, Virtus Bologna and Germani Basket Brescia in Eurocup, Banco di Sardegna Sassari, Pompea Fortitudo Bologna and Happy Casa Brindisi in the Basketball Champions League.

It was then decided to adopt a new formula for the Super Cup, which will be open to all 18 clubs and will begin on August 29 with 6 groups of 3 teams each. The quarterfinals of the Cup are scheduled for September 12 and 13 while the Final Four will take place on September 19 and 20 (venue to be defined).