Eurohoops’ picks for 2020 VTB League All-Star Game

2020-01-20T17:02:56+00:00 2020-01-23T11:34:18+00:00.


20/Jan/20 17:02

Eurohoops participated in the second stage of voting for the Russian Stars and World Stars’ rosters at the fourth VTB United League All-Star Game

By Eurohoops team/

Eurohoops took part in the second phase of votings for the VTB United League All-Star Game during which the media make their roster picks.

The first phase belonged to the fans, which voted to make the initial list of 66 players for the media to choose from. In the next stage, the league-appointed head coaches will determine the starting lineups.

The duel between the Russian Stars and the World Stars at the fourth VTB All-Star game will be held on February 16 in Moscow. There are two rules we had to abide by when making our selection:

1) No more than two players from a single club can be on a team
2) Ten players on each side (five backcourt players, five frontcourt players)

Since All-Star Games are primarily a fan event, we decided to automatically include the five players on each team that received the most votes during the first stage and fill out the remaining spots.

In the World Stars, we went for full diversity and picked ten players from ten different teams while the Russian Stars have Khimki, CSKA, and PARMA in its core. We also included the 2016 NBA champion Timofey Mozgov who has been recovering from an injury, but the fans still want to see him and, who knows, this might very well be the start of his return.

Without further ado, here are the rosters we decided on:

Russian Stars

Backcourt: Alexey Shved (Khimki), Dmitry Khvostov (Zenit), Nikita Mikhailovskii (Avtodor), Dmitriy Kulagin (Lokomotiv Kuban), Maxim Grigoryev (PARMA).

Frontcourt: Andrey Vorontsevich (CSKA), Nikita Kurbanov (CSKA), Artem Zabelin (PARMA), Anton Astapkovich (Nizhny Novgorod), Timofey Mozgov (Khimki).

World Stars

Backcourt: Mike James (CSKA), Adas Juskevicius (PARMA), Errick McCollum (UNICS), Davion Berry (Enisey), Brandon Brown (Nizhny Novgorod).

Frontcourt: Janis Timma (Khimki), Gustavo Ayon (Zenit), Dusan Ristic (Astana), Drew Gordon (Zielona Gora), Sam Dekker (Lokomotiv Kuban).

Photo Credit: VTB United League