List of EuroLeague-winning head coaches by country

2019-05-17T12:03:01+00:00 2019-05-17T12:41:38+00:00.

Giannis Askounis

17/May/19 12:03

Nineteen EuroLeague Championships were won by Serbian head coaches.

By Stelios Toromanidis/

Zeljko Obradovic is on top of the list of the head coaches with the most EuroLeague titles and at the same time massively pushes Serbia in first place of the list with the most winners by country. Combined with Bozidar Maljkovic’s four championships, Aca Nikolic’s three, Dusan Ivkovic’s two and Svetislav Pesic’s one, Serbia has won a grand total of 19 EuroLeague titles.

Obradovic, 59, is at Vitoria-Gasteiz for the 2019 EuroLeague Final Four aiming for his tenth triumph and his country’s twentieth. First up for his Fenerbahce Beko is Ergin Ataman’s Anadolu Efes. The 53-year-old Turkish head coach can become the first from his country to rise to the top of Europe’s premier competition.

Pablo Laso will take the conversation on the most successful countries in EuroLeague history to another level if he leads Real Madrid to the top at his home country and the city he was born. He has the opportunity to be crowned champion for the third time and simultaneously knot Spain with Italy in second place of the list with eleven titles.

CSKA Moscow made it to the Final Four once again with Dimitris Itoudis guiding the club from the sidelines. The Greek head coach is one of the two from his country with a EuroLeague championship to his name and certainly hopes to improve Greece’s position in the list of EuroLeague-winning head coaches by country this weekend.

Country Head Coaches Championships
Serbia Zeljko Obradovic, Bozidar Maljkovic, Aca Nikolic, Dusan Ivkovic, Svetislav Pesic 19
Italy Ettore Messina, Valerio Bianchini, Sandro Gamba, Cesare Rubini, Giancarlo Primo, Franco Casalini 11
Spain Pedro Ferrandiz, Pablo Laso, Lolo Sainz, Xavi Pascual, Joaquin Hernandez 10
Russia Alexander Gomelsky, Evgeny Alexeev 6
Israel Pini Gershon, Ralph Klein, David Blat 5
Croatia Zeljko Pavlicevic, Mirko Novosel 3
Greece Giorgos Bartzokas, Dimitris Itoudis 2
USA Rudy D’Amico, Dan Peterson 2
Lithuania Jonas Kazlauskas 1
Montenegro Bogdan Tanjevic 1
Armenia Armenak Alachachian 1
Georgia Otar Korkia 1