CSKA outlasts Zenit in the second overtime for a 3-1 lead

2022-05-27T21:58:48+00:00 2022-05-27T22:02:36+00:00.

Giannis Askounis

27/May/22 21:58


Huge win on the road for CSKA against Zenit in the VTB United League Finals

By Johnny Askounis/ info@eurohoops.net

Casper Ware connected the game-winning buzzer-beater at the end of the second overtime pushing CSKA to a 3-1 lead in the VTB United League Finals. The team coached by Dimitris Itoudis edged Zenit, 111-110, in Sibur Arena Friday evening.

Will Clyburn dropped 33 points in Game 4 of the best-of-seven series concluding the VTB Playoffs falling one point shy of his career-best scoring performance. In double-double range, Alexey Shved paired 21 points with ten assists and Nikola Milutinov 20 points with 17 rebounds. Ware got to 18 points.

It was a back-and-forth marathon. CSKA looked in good shape following a 22-8 run covering most of the third quarter but the Saint Petersburg side came back. Apart from forcing the first overtime from way beyond the arc, Billy Baron matched his season-high 28 points. Sergey Karasev fired 25 points and Alex Poythress had 20 points. Jordan Loyd posted a 15-point, 10-assist double-double plus eight rebounds.

Back in Moscow with a championship-clinching opportunity for the Moscow outlet, Game 5 will be held Monday evening.

UNICS won the third-place series opposite Lokomotiv Kuban, 3-1, after securing the 94-73 victory in Game 4 yesterday, Thursday.

Parma, Avtodor, Enisey, and Nizhny Novgorod exited via first-round sweeps. Tsmoki-Minsk and Astana missed the Playoffs cut.

Earlier in the 2021-22 season, Poland’s Zielona Gora and Estonia’s Kalev/Cramo withdrew their participation after Russia’s invasion of Ukraine.

CSKA, Zenit, UNICS, and Lokomotiv Kuban were all eliminated from the remainder of the 2021-22 campaign of Turkish Airlines EuroLeague and 7DAYS EuroCup, as announced by Euroleague Basketball in late March.

Moving to the 2022-23 season, all clubs from Russia and Belarus have been excluded from the process to register for the Basketball Champions League.

Photo Credit: EuroleagueBasketball.net