ABA League expanding to 16 teams, including Dubai

2024-04-05T18:27:36+00:00 2024-04-05T18:27:36+00:00.

Nikola Miloradovic

05/Apr/24 18:27


As officially stated, no teams will be relegated from the current ABA League season, and the format will be maintained until the 2029/30 season

By Eurohoops team/ info@eurohoops.net

The ABA League officially confirmed the inclusion of the Dubai team, expanding from 14 to 16 teams from the 2024/25 season until the 2029/30 season.

The League’s Assembly also decided to raise the limit for the highest number of possible participants from a single country from the current five clubs to six clubs.

In accordance with the decision of the members of the Company, in the 2024/25 season, the AdmiralBet ABA League will be composed of:

14 teams from the current (2023/24) season
– The 15th team will be the winner of the NLB ABA League 2 championship trophy in the 2023/24 season
– The 16th team will be BC Dubai

The official statement also reads that the ABA League Assembly has unanimously (with the presence of 9 out of 11 members, without the presence of Budućnost VOLI and Partizan Mozzart Bet) adopted a decision for all the Company members to deliver a power of attorney and extracts from the court register in the following seven days. This is to ensure that SC Derby can be registered as a member of the Company in the shortest possible term, and Borac Mozzart and Split could be registered as members from 15 June 2024.