Eight different countries still going in the Basketball Champions League

2019-03-14T09:47:07+00:00 2019-03-14T10:56:21+00:00.

Giannis Askounis

14/Mar/19 09:47


For the first time, eight different nations are represented in the Basketball Champions League quarterfinals.

By John Askounis/ info@eurohoops.net

The Basketball Champions League takes pride on the number of countries that have been a part of its history. This season adds on its diversity on terms of teams advancing to the quarterfinals, because all eight sides are from different nations. Belgium, France, Germany, Greece, Israel, Italy, Russia and Spain will all be part of BCL quarterfinals action.

Hapoel Bank Yahav Jerusalem, Nizhny Novgorod and Telenet Giants Antwerp became the first teams from Israel, Russia and Belgium, respectively, to make it this far in FIBA’s premier competition. It’s worth noting that Antwerp was already the first club of its country to advance to the playoffs.

The Nizhny Novgorod versus Antwerp pairing makes certain that Russia or Belgium will be represented in the Basketball Champions League Final Four for the first time. Hapoel Jerusalem must overcome Iberostar Tenerife to achieve a similar feat as an Israeli representative.

The first legs will be played on 27 and 28 of March. Rematches will follow one week later on 3 and 4 of April.

Photo Credit: Basketball Champions League