Bayern Munich sweeps Wurzburg to return to BBL Finals

2024-06-02T17:09:35+00:00 2024-06-02T19:21:12+00:00.

Nikola Miloradovic

02/Jun/24 17:09

Bayern Munich will play for the BBL Championship against ALBA Berlin or Chemnitz

By Eurohoops team /

Bayern Munich is back in the German Championship series after missing the BBL Finals last season due to losing to Ratiopharm Ulm in the semifinal series.

Pablo Laso’s side swept s.Oliver Wurzburg in the semis 3-0, winning Game 3 on the road with a final score of 61-75.

Serge Ibaka stood out in the finals-clinching game with 19 points and eight rebounds for a PIR of 29. Carsen Edwards followed with 15 points, while captain Vladimir Lucic added 12 points.

Darius Perry led Wurzburg with 21 points and seven assists, while Javon Bess and Collin Welp helped with 12 points each.

ALBA on the verge of elimination

Bayern will fight for the championship against ALBA Berlin or Chemnitz, with the FIBA Europe Cup winners leading 2-1 after defeating Israel Gonzalez’s squad 84-72 in Game 3.

Jeffery Garrett, with 15 points and nine rebounds, and Kaza Kajami-Keane, with 15 points and seven assists, led Chemnitz to the brink of the finals.

Aher Uguak with 13 points, Jonas Richter with 11 points and seven rebounds, and Wes Van Beck with 10 points followed.

Johannes Thiemann scored 13 points and had five boards for ALBA. Matt Thomas added 13 points, and Sterling Brown scored 10. The Berlin side now needs a road win in Game 4 to avoid missing the Finals for the second consecutive year.

BBL Playoffs

Quarterfinals (best-of-five)

A – FC Bayern Munich – MHP RIESEN Ludwigsburg 3-1 (98-10283-6784-73, 76-69)
B – ratiopharm Ulm – Wurzburg Baskets 1-3 (65-78, 100-64, 79-82, 72-75)
C – ALBA Berlin – Telekom Baskets Bonn 3-0 (94-68, 83-70, 93-86)
D – Niners Chemnitz – Rasta Vechta 3-1 (83-77, 87-96, 84-76)

Semifinals (best-of-five)

FC Bayern Munich – Wurzburg Baskets 3-0 (91–76, 99–75, 75-61)
ALBA Berlin – Niners Chemnitz 1-2 (82-95, 86-64, 72-84)

Finals (best-of-five)

FC Bayern Munich – ALBA Berlin/Niners Chemnitz