Warriors break the tie with the Bulls capturing the seventh title

2022-06-17T10:31:31+00:00 2022-06-17T10:35:43+00:00.

Giannis Askounis

17/Jun/22 10:31


History was made with the Golden State Warriors capturing the NBA championship for the fourth time in eight years

By Johnny Askounis/ info@eurohoops.net

Record-breaking winning stretches, individual accomplishments, and more. All coming out of the Golden State Warriors becoming the 2022 NBA champions.

The Warriors went all the way for the seventh time in team history, as the Philadelphia, San Francisco, and Golden State Warriors, combined. The seventh title broke the tie with the Chicago Bulls for the sole possession of the third place in the all-time list of teams with the most NBA championships behind the 17-time winners Boston Celtics and Los Angeles Lakers.

Out of the seven championships, it was the fourth in the last eight years. The Warriors are the first team enjoying such a successful eight-year span since the Bulls from 1990-91 to 1997-98.

In addition, Stephen Curry besides adding the Bill Russell Trophy as the MVP of the 2022 NBA Finals, he became the seventh player packing four championships and two regular-season MVP awards. The list included Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, Tim Duncan, LeBron James, Magic Johnson, Michael Jordan, and Bill Russell.

Five-time champion as a player, Steve Kerr turned into a four-time champion as a head coach to emerge as the sixth with four or more titles. Phil Jackson (11), Red Auerbach (9), John Kundla (5), Gregg Popovich (5), and Pat Riley (5) were already on that list.

After missing the Playoffs in 2020 and 2021, the Warriors stormed back eliminating the Denver Nuggets in five games, the Memphis Grizzlies in six games, and the Dallas Mavericks in five games, before the Finals and taking out the Celtics in six games.

Photo Credit: Getty Images